Transforming the Education Workforce:

Learning Teams for a Learning Generation







the **Education Commission**

Acknowledgements

The Education Commission is very grateful to the many organizations and individuals that have made substantial contributions to this report either directly or through various consultations and discussions. It is much appreciated.

Education Workforce Initiative High-Level Steering Group

Chair

Ju-Ho Lee, Commissioner and Professor, KDI School of Public Policy and Management; Former Minister of Education, Science, and Technology, South Korea

Vice-chairs

Susan Hopgood, President, Education International; Federal Secretary, Australian Education Union

Theo Sowa, Commissioner and CEO, African Women's Development Fund

Adviser to the Chair

Elizabeth King, Non-resident Senior Fellow, Center for Universal Education, The Brookings Institution

Members

Carole Basile, Dean, Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College at Arizona State University

Carlos Beca, Executive Coordinator, Technical Secretariat of the Regional Strategy on Teachers

Staneala Beckley, Chair, Sierra Leone Teaching Service Commission

Teopista Birungi Mayanja, Commissioner and Regional Coordinator, Africa Network Campaign for Education For All; Founder, Uganda National Teachers' Union

Jim Campbell, Director, Health Workforce Department at the World Health Organization

Kristin Clemet, Commissioner and Leader. Civita

Rachel Glennerster, Chief Economist at the United Kingdom's, Department for International Development

Baela Raza Jamil, Commissioner and CEO, Idara-e-Taleem-o-Aagahi

Sharath Jeevan, Founder and CEO, STIR Education

Ku-hyun Jung, Professor Emeritus, Yonsei University

Daniel Lafrenière, Former Member, Education International's Executive Board

Lucy Lake, Chief Executive, Campaign for Female Education

Paul Marsden, Technical Officer, Health Workforce Department at the World Health Organization

Mary Metcalfe, Senior Research Associate, University of Johannesburg

Denis Mizne, CEO, Lemann Foundation

Jordan Naidoo, Director, Education 2030

Evelyn Oduro, Former Executive Secretary, National Teaching Council

Melanie Renaud, Vice President of Communications, Secretariat and Treasury, Fédération du personnel soutien scolaire (CSQ)

Pasi Sahlberg, Professor of Education Policy, Gonski Institute for Education, University of New South Wales

Liesbet Steer, Director, The Education Commission

Myo Thein Gyi, Union Minister, Ministry of Education, Myanmar

Denise Valliant, Academic Director, Institute of Education at Universidad ORT, Uruguay

Transforming the Education Workforce Report Team

Leadership and report contributors

Liesbet Steer, Director, The Education Commission

Amy Bellinger, Lead, Education Workforce Initiative

Management and report contributor

Katie Godwin

Report contributors

Charlotte Jones

Ruth Naylor

Paul Atherton

Alasdair Mackintosh

Research support

Shelby Carvalho Elena Losada

Report production and editing

Adam Findeisen Lana Wong

Creative

Diego Feijóo Studio

Communications

François Servranckx Jamie Lonie

Operations and administration

Anna Shakarova Katherine Curtiss

Research Team

Authors of the background papers for the report:

Yeukai Mlambo, Arizona State University Ann Nielsen, Arizona State University Iveta Silova, Arizona State University Pearl Boateng, Education Development Trust

Charlotte Jones, Education Development Trust

Ruth Naylor, Education Development Trust Tal Rafaeli, Education Development Trust Alfonso Accinelli, Fab, Inc.

Paul Atherton, Fab. Inc.

Alasdair Mackintosh, Fab. Inc.

Caine Rolleston, Institute of Education, University College London

Freda Wolfenden, The Open University Monazza Aslam, OPERA (Oxford Partnership for Education Research

& Analysis)
Shenila Rawal, OPERA (Oxford Partnership for Education Research & Analysis)
Emily Akers, Independent Consultant

Peer Reviewers

Ritva Reinikka, Former Director, World Bank

Emiliana Vegas, Senior fellow and Co-Director of the Center for Universal Education at the Brookings Institution

Background Papers

Godwin, Katie and Amy Bellinger. 2019. "Why Do We Need to Rethink the Education Workforce?" Forthcoming Background Paper for Transforming the Education Workforce: Learning Teams for a Learning Generation. New York: Education Commission.

Jones, Charlotte, Ruth Naylor and Tal Rafaeli (Education Development Trust), Yeukai Mlambo, Ann Nielsen and Iveta Silova (Arizona State University), and Freda Wolfenden (The Open University). "2019. Designing the Education Workforce." Forthcoming Background Paper for Transforming the Education Workforce: Learning Teams for a Learning Generation. New York: Education Commission.

Naylor, Ruth, Charlotte Jones, and Pearl Boateng (Education Development Trust). 2019. "Strengthening the Education Workforce." Forthcoming Background Paper for Transforming the Education Workforce: Learning Teams for a Learning Generation. New York: Education Commission.

Aslam, Monazza and Shenila Rawal. 2019. "Political Economy of the Education Workforce." Forthcoming Background Paper for Transforming the Education Workforce: Learning Teams for a Learning Generation. New York: Education Commission.

Atherton, Paul, Alasdair Mackintosh, and Alfonso Accinelli with Caine Rolleston. 2019. "Planning, Costing, and Financing the Education Workforce." Forthcoming Background Paper for Transforming the Education Workforce: Learning Teams for a Learning Generation. New York: Education Commission.

Please cite this publication as:

Education Commission. 2019. Transforming the Education Workforce: Learning Teams for a Learning Generation. New York: Education Commission.

Advisory Group

Edem Adubra, UNESCO Teachers Task Force

Beatrice Avalos, University of Chile Tara Beteille, The World Bank

Barbara Bruns, Center for Global Development

Ed Davis, GPE

Talia Miranda De Chaisemartin, GPE

Gerd-Hanne Fosen, Norad

Susannah Hares, Center for Global Development

Sherif Yunus Hydara, UNICEF

Javier Gonzalez, SUMMA (Laboratory of Education Research and Innovation for Latin America and the Caribbean)

Sally Jeffery, PwC

Kim Kerr, Mastercard Foundation Oliver Liang, International Labour Organization

Doug McCall, FRESH Network Susy Ndaruhutse, Education Development Trust

Margo O'Sullivan, UNICEF, China Vikas Pota, Varkey Foundation Diane Robinson, Teach For All

Mark Roland, Results for Development Barbara Payne, Cambridge Education Ernesto Schiefelbein, Harvard University Dennis Sinyolo, Education International

Patience Sowa, RTI International

Karen Tremblay, OECD

Loïc Watine, Innovations for Poverty

David Weston, Teacher Development Trust Rebecca Winthrop, The Brookings Institution

Tom Vandenbosch, VVOB Education for Development.



A special thank you to the United Kingdom's Department for International Development for funding this report and their team's strategic guidance and direction: Rachel Hinton, Emily Woolf, Ian Attfield, Matt Clancy, Stuart Stoneham, and Jess Atkinson.