

the Education Youth Video Challenge

Share your ideas about the future of education and win a chance to have your voice heard at the United Nations in New York and on MTV!

Enter here (http://bit.ly/1RjJXup) or on our Facebook page (http://on.fb.me/1QY1xkm)

the Education Youth Video Challenge

The Education Commission was set up last September to help the world develop a plan for achieving the ambitious Sustainable Development Goal on Education (SDG 4) which calls on the world to "ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all." This is an enormous challenge. More than 124 million children and youth do not have access to primary and secondary schools. And of the roughly 590 million that are in school, some 250 million—roughly two in five—are failing to learn the basics of reading, writing, and math.

The Commission hopes to change this. A group of world leaders have come together to make major recommendations about how every child and young person can reach his or her potential through education. These leaders will put forward an agenda for action and **WITH YOUR HELP**, inspire and persuade leaders to act.

We want to hear **YOUR voices** about what education means for your future. Education is a fundamental issue that affects young people everywhere. Let's make some noise and stand #UpForSchool!

The Challenge

Create your video of 30 seconds or less that answers one or both of these questions:

How can education best prepare you for your future? What would your ideal school of the future look like?

Submit your video here (http://bit.ly/1RjJXup) or on our Facebook page (http://on.fb.me/1QY1xkm)

Deadline

May 31, 2016 (11:59 pm EST, New York City time)

Eligibility

Young people from around the world ages 13-30*

*Participants under the age of 18 will need to submit a release form signed by a parent/legal guardian; details available on the competition link

Judging

The top three videos will be selected by the Education Commission's Youth Panel, co-chaired by **Kennedy Odede** (Kenya) and **Rosemarie Ramitt** (Guyana) and including **Malala Yousafzai** (Pakistan). A People's Choice Award will also be given to the video that receives the most public votes. The Education Youth Video Challenge is being organized in collaboration with A World at School Global Youth Ambassadors and MTV Voices.



Prizes

Winning videos will be screened at the Education Commission's meeting in July in Oslo, on various MTV and partner platforms, and at the Commission's report launch this September in New York.

The following prizes will be awarded:

Grand Prize (must be over 18 years old): an invitation to New York to see his/her video screened at the Commission's report launch during the UN General Assembly in September

Second Prize: iPad mini (16GB, wifi)

Third Prize: HP Chromebook (11-inch laptop computer, 4GB RAM) **People's Choice Award**: GoPro Hero4 Session waterproof video camera

Join us!

Check out educationcommission.org and follow us on Facebook (http://on.fb.me/1PoiiCj) and Twitter (http://bit.ly/1WqOER8).

Add your voice to this critical conversation on global education and stand #UpForSchool!

Background

The International Commission on Financing Global Education Opportunity (The Education Commission) is a major new global initiative engaging world leaders, policy makers and researchers to develop a renewed and compelling investment case and financing pathway for achieving equal educational opportunity for children and young people.

The Education Commission is bringing together the best research and policy analysis on the actions necessary to increase investment in concrete, relevant learning outcomes that have a positive impact on economic and social development. The Commission is co-convened by Prime Minister **Erna Solberg** of Norway, President **Michelle Bachelet** of Chile, President **Joko Widodo** of Indonesia, President **Peter Mutharika** of Malawi and the Director-General of UNESCO **Irina Bokova**. The UN Special Envoy for Global Education, **Gordon Brown**, serves as the Chair of the Commission.